Pi-hsien Chen,  陳必先 pianist

Ms. Pi-Hsien Chen was born in Taiwan and came to Cologne when she was nine years old. One year later, she was admitted in the class of Hans-Otto Schmidt-Neuhaus. At the age of 21, she won the first prize at the ARD-International-Piano-Competition in Munich, later on the first prizes at the A.Schönberg-Competition in Rotterdam and at the J.S.Bach-Competition in Washington D.C.

She performed with important orchestras, such as the London Symphony Orchestra, the BBC-Symphony-Orchestra, the Concertgebouw-Orchestra, the Zurich-Tonhalle-Orchestra and all German Radio-Symphony- Orchestras. Conductors, with whom she has worked, were Bernhard Haitink, Paul Sacher, Sir Colin Davis, Charles Dutoit, Marek Janowsky, Hans Zender and Peter Eötvös. She was partner of Hermann Baumann, Pierre-Laurant Aimard, Wolfgang Meyer and Augustin Dumay a.o.

Ms. Pi-hsien Chen took part in numerous music-festivals: she gave performances in the Schwetzinger Festspiele, the London Prom's, Huddersfield Festival, the Osaka Festival, the Hong-Kong-Arts-Festival, the Festival d'Automne Paris, Musica Strasbourg, the Festival Wien Modern, the Triennale Cologne, in the German Pavillon of the EXPO 2000 in Hannover, the L'Antheron Piano Festival in France and at the Sao Raimundo Nonato in Piavi, Brasil.

Her increasing interest and engagement for contemporary music grew in the co-operation with composers as Pierre Boulez, Karlheinz Stockhausen and Gyorgy Kurtág, John Cage and Elliott Carter. Since 1983, Pi-hsien Chen was a professor for the piano at the Musikhochschule, Köln and continues teaching at the Musikhochschule Freiburg since 2004. Regularly she is giving international master classes like in Boston, US (Walnut Hill Festival) or Helsinki, Finland (Sibelius Academy).

In 2012, she performed Music of Changes by John Cage and Second Sonata by Pierre Boulez to celebrate Cage’s 100 year anniversary in Berlin. In 2013, she performed the all Schoenberg piano works and works by Lei Liang in Ultraschall Festival in Berlin. She was artist in residence in the 2nd Contemporary Music Festival in Taipei, where she premiered four programs of contemporary music. She appeared in Lucerne Festival with George F. Haas.

Published on CD are:
- J.S.Bach, "Goldberg Variations" (Naxos)
- P.Boulez, "Notations" and "Structures II", with B.Wambach (Sony)
- O.Messiaen, "Harawi", with S.v Osten (ITM)
- Jean Barraqué and Pierre Boulez; Sonatas (Telos)
- Arnold Schönberg; Complete Piano Music for Two Hands (hat now art)
- Xiaoyong Chen, “Invisible Landscapes” (Radio Bremen)
- York Höller, Piano Works (CPO)
- J.S.Bachs Art of Fugue (CFM Berlin )
- P.Boulez release "Three Sonatas" (hat now art)
- P.Boulez, "Structures I & II", John Cage “Music for Piano” (hat now art)
- W.A. Moart “All Sonatas, Several Variaions and Piano Pieces” (Sunsrise Records)
- J.S.Bach “Six Partitas” (Phil. Harmonic Berlin)
   - D.Scarlatti/John Cage “Sonatas and Music of Changes” (hat now art)
   - Stockhausen Klavierstucke I-VI and Beethoven Sonata Op. 101, Op. 111 (hat now art)


Thank you for your generous contribution to
Foundation for Chinese Performing Arts

Foundation for Chinese Performing Arts
Lincoln, Massachusetts